Works For Me Wednesday – Toddler Tip

wfmwsmall.jpg

This is my first ever Works for Me Wednesday. Let’s see how long this lasts!

My tip is for teaching toddlers how to use a big kid cup at the table. I noticed that my son Bug was always setting his open topped cup very close to the edge of the table or too near his plate which often resulted in spilled cups and messes for Mommy to clean up. I decided to try an “X marks the spot” trick. I placed a couple pieces of scotch tape in an X on my dining room table where I wanted the cup to sit (still within easy reach, but out of the spill zone) and taught Bug that his cup sits on the X when he’s not drinking. It worked wonders. Since then, I haven’t had a single spilled cup. (knock on wood)

For more Works for Me Wednesday tips, click here!

7 thoughts on “Works For Me Wednesday – Toddler Tip

  1. What a cool idea, Sara- I might try that with Ricky- he eats all his meals at a kiddies picnic table and drinks are always under threat, lol!

  2. You are a life saver. I sometimes just resort back to a sippy cup because it is mess free. I have tried to teach him to push his cup back but I think you are on to something.

    What a wonderful idea. Thank you so much.

Leave a Comment

