Sick of Being Sick

Can I just say that I’m tired of my house being the sick house?   I want to curl up in a ball and stay that way for a while.  Everyone in my house has some sort of sickness.  Bug seems to be on the mend, thankfully.  He gets his last eye drop tonight at bedtime and his eyes are back to their beautiful selves.  He still has a slightly stuffy/runny nose, but other than that, he’s much better.  He didn’t even cough at all last night…knock on wood…don’t want to jinx myself tonight.  (Yes, I am superstitious about jinxing myself.)

Darling Hubby is still stuffy and has a sore throat which makes it hard to talk for long periods and he still has some burning thanks to the pink eye.  His poor eyes are all red and he kinda looks evil.  I just hope the eye drops start working for him like they did for Bug.   He’s got a project review this week as well as another review and a phone conference.  Personally, I think his company has a pretty crappy view on their workers being sick.  It should be worded something like this in their handbook, “All employees must report to work during periods of inclement weather (lots of snow and ice) and during all illnesses (including symptom like coughing, stuffy noses/runny noses, sneezing, fevers, vomiting, diarrhea, contagious infections, etc) unless accompanied by a death certificate.”    Yeah, I think that about covers it…I really hope he’s feeling better.  I hate seeing him sick.

I’m feeling a little better today than I was at the start of the week, but worse than yesterday.  My throat still feels like it is swollen on my left side and it hurts to swallow.  I can feel it all they way down my neck and into my left ear.  I took some tylenol last night and a little while ago and that seems to help.  I’ve noticed that the heat trick I tried earlier this week isn’t working and feels like it’s making it worse…My nose isn’t terribly stuffy, but occasionally it will feel a little congested or runny.  Thank goodness for Puffs Plus!  I sound funny to myself when I talk…Oh, and the worst thing about this whole illness is that I have NO SENSE OF TASTE!  I can eat anything and it tastes like I’m eating invisible food.  I was eating buffalo wing pretzel bites earlier and nothing…what a waste.

Ok, I think I’m going to go chow down on some ice cream for dinner…yep, you read that correctly, ice cream for dinner.  I figure that since heat (like hot tea) isn’t helping my throat like it was before I might go for some cold.  What’s colder than ice cream?  Hey, it’s good for tonsils, right?

4 thoughts on “Sick of Being Sick

  1. Sorry that you guys aren’t feeling too great! I am glad that Bug’s eyes are all better. Hope dh is better too! Sorry for laughing when you said he “looked kind of evil”- I can just see his face if he read that!!!! 😀

  2. I know how you feel! Everytime I think i’m getting better…I end up sick again. So i decided to buy Lysol and see if that help. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed!

  3. Thanks for the heads up on the lemonade chicken. Yup, won’t be doing it around here.

    BUT.. I did buy a new cookbook like the other, but casseroles this time. It has a pretty snazzy looking Chicken Lasagna in it, with no red sauce. I think I will be trying that next week along with my St. Patty’s Day dinner. Let me know if you want the recipe, or just to find out what is in it. Would be glad to send it your way!

Leave a Comment

