Crafty Accomplishments

Despite all the housework I have to accomplish this week, I managed to be very crafty yesterday.  I’ve been working on a pair of convertible mittens for a couple weeks that I finally finished yesterday.  I’d planned to use them as a Christmas present for someone, but I decided that since the first pair came out so well, I’d give them to Darling Hubby to replace his old pair of store-bought convertible mittens that he’s worn completely out.

Convertable Mittens

I’ve had to repair them several times in the past couple years.  I don’t think they could withstand another winter or another repair.  I’m going to make another pair for my dad and possibly one for another person on my Christmas buy for list.

I have a ton and a half of that boring brown (espresso) yarn and it’s not really good for much so I’m trying to use it up…hence the mittens.  Well, I decided that Darling Hubby also needed a hat to wear with his mittens, so I found a pattern for a simple boy beanie online and proceeded to make a quick hat.

Boy Beanie
It turned out so well and was so easy.  It literally took me only a couple hours to crochet it completely and that was with taking breaks to cook dinner and to greet Darling Hubby when he got home from work (and to have him try it on to see if it would fit properly).   I found that it fit Bug as well, so I’m now in the process of making a shorter version for him in matching colors.  I’m also going to see about making him a pair of mittens, too.  I’m not sure if I’ll make them convertable, too.  Depends on the pattern I find that I like.

I’m also happy that I managed to post these FO’s (finished objects) on my Ravelry page.  woot!

I was also crafty in the sewing department.  After dinner, a quick shower, and a trip to the neighbors house to check their mail (they are on vacation), Darling Hubby and Bug sat down to watch some Batman cartoon on my laptop so I hauled myself into the other room and proceeded to work on the bridesmaid dresses for the wedding that may or may not happen.  I did promise to finish them, and that’s what I’m going to do.  I got the sleeves and drapes cut out for the Maid of Honor’s dress (man that was a pain.  I never want to work with that fabric ever again) and started to lay out the pattern for the last dress.  I’ll get that done and cut out this week and on Monday I’ll have Rose help me work on the MOH’s dress.  I’m not sure about how the sleeves and drape are to be done… I’m kinda pattern illiterate until I’ve run through it once.  I’ll probably, if I put my mind to it, finish the last sleeveless dress at home.  It’s pretty easy and since I know what I’m doing there it won’t take me too long.

Until then, I’m going to go do laundry, change the litter pans which are getting stinky and walk the dogs.  Honestly, I’d rather be crochetting or sewing.  lol

2 thoughts on “Crafty Accomplishments

  1. ooooo love being crafty! it feels good to accomplish things, huh?

    my home computer has a virus…I’m at work. shhhhhhhh………

    have a great week.

  2. Hi,

    Are you in Manhattan, or nearby?

    Some yarn stores still carry that particular book. I just bought my second copy in a Manhattan yarn store for 50% off. Now I can keep one in good condition, while the first copy I bought can get more used up. I thought that particular sweater was a very easy one to do. It looks more complex in the picture than it is in the directions!

Leave a Comment

