Blogging In My Mind

Do you ever find yourself writing blog posts in your head at times where it’s impossible to actually get it down on “paper.”  That’s what I found myself doing at 1:30 this morning after only an hours worth of sleep, with a stomach full of what felt like a leaden marble (made of skittles) after being startled awake by the 3 year old in the room across the hall who was chanting, “Daddy, Daddy, Daaadddy!” (Who despite the beckoning call, continued to sleep soundly next to me sawing logs like a professional lumberjack.)   Bug was pleasantly surprised to find me home (I’d gone to a friends for craft night) and I got a very warm welcome from my little man who really just wanted someone to give his knee several kisses because it “still hurt.”  After settling Bug back down and crawling back into my nice warm bed I attempted to get comfortable and in the meantime, my mind decided that it wasn’t going to shut down for me and wrote a blog post which was so much better than this post.  I find myself able to think of all these funny things and anecdotes and later when comes to sitting down at the keyboard I find myself unable to think of those funny things again.  Guess I’m only funny in my own mind…

Anyway, I had a pretty productive (albeit silly) night with Rose.  We worked on the Maid of Honor’s dress and got it mostly completed.  We only have the inside neck piece and the sleeves left to finish.  I think I’ve decided to hold off on putting the zippers in and just give them back to the bride and let her deal with the finishing touches if they decide to put the wedding back on.  I still have to cut out the last dress, but that is something that won’t take too long and once I get it cut out, I’ll be able to do most of that on my own time.  My goal is to have them all finished by the last Monday in July.  That gives me 2 more weeks.  It won’t take me long to finish my own dress (which only needs a zipper and a hem/fitting) and regardless of whether or not the wedding takes place, the dress will be finished and more than likely, I’ll use it for a Halloween costume this year. I think we are going for a renaissance-ish theme anyway…if not, I’ll be a princess…

Aside from being sew crafty, I’ve been continuing to work on my ripple afghan.  It’s coming along ok.  I’m still not too keen on the colors, but I think it will be nice for a Christmas present for some male family member.  Speaking of presents, I’ve been working on a little something for my friend Rachelle’s newest addition to her family which is due pretty much anytime between now and the end of August.  I’m holding off on posting pictures because I don’t want to ruin the surprise.  I’m hoping to give it to her this weekend (we are still trying to make plans) as this will probably be the only time I see her before the baby is born, so if I don’t see her, I’ll end up mailing it to her. Course, I’ll miss seeing her since we haven’t seen each other in forever…I seriously can’t remember the last time we actually saw each other in person…

This weekend is also my class reunion.  I’m looking forward to it, but at the same time I’m dreading it.  I haven’t seen most of these people in 10 years, but yet I still feel like I have to impress them and look good for them, just like I did when I set foot in DCS every day.  I don’t know why I still feel that way.  We’ve all grown up and gone our separate ways and have our own lives outside of that tiny little hick town.  I’ve heard through the grapevine about people getting out and making something of themselves and other staying and doing typical hick town things.  I got out, attempted to continue my education and decided that I was better suited to being a stay at home mom.  Which, I’m sure isn’t going to be looked at highly, but hey, it’s what I’m happiest doing.

I haven’t kept in touch with many people, aside from Clint and Annie.  I attempted to keep tabs on Jenn, but she all but fell off the face of the earth after graduation.  I’ve tried looking for her online, people searching and what not, but it’s like she doesn’t exist anymore.  She probably got married and changed her name and that’s why it’s been hard to find her.  I am hoping that Michelle is going to be there, too.  We left high school on bad terms and to tell the truth, I’m not even sure what the issue was at this point.  I’ve let it go and I hope that she has too.  I’ve attempted to find her as well, but I’ve just had no luck.  I’m pretty sure she’s married now and has kids (at least that’s what I’ve heard through the grapevine) so it would be hard to track her down as well.  There are a few others whom I’m looking forward to seeing after all these years, but most of my classmates were just that, classmates and weren’t true friends, like Jenn, Michelle, Clint, and Annie – who even though she wasn’t there with me daily from 9th grade on, she is still part of my class in my humble little opinion.  I’m also hoping my class has matured quite a bit in the passing years.  I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings, but my class was pretty immature…but then again…I think anyone looking back has that to say about their class…even Darling Hubby who graduated 18 years ago…

Overall, I’m looking forward to having a good time, visiting, and getting to know everyone all over again.  I’m hoping to reconnect with everyone on a “non high school” level and maybe rekindle those old friendships that were stored away with the graduation cap and gown.  Hopefully, I’ll have pictures when I return and lots of fun memories to store away in my scrapbook to bring out in another 10 years.  Let’s just hope no one gets super drunk before the parade.  The last thing we need is someone falling off the float…and yes…this has happened before…like I said…hick town!

One thought on “Blogging In My Mind

Leave a Comment

