A Couple Weeks Worth

I’ve been in a blogging funk lately.  I have a ton to say, but just haven’t been able to sit down and write it all out.  Let me see…where to begin…

I think we are potty trained…officially.   A couple weeks ago Bug earned his jack hammer for pooping on the potty 10 times.  The last 2 times were of his own asking to go.  Since then, we’ve had no poopy accidents and he’s been asking to go and actually going once he’s on the potty.  I think he really had a break through.  He’s been really good about going pee on the potty for a while now and will often run to the bathroom on his own or ask to go when we are out and about.  As for overnight, he’s actually been staying dry from around 8pm-7:30am.  He did have one accident this morning, but I think that was because he’d had a bad dream early this morning so that may have been the cause.  I think once this week is over without any daytime accidents, I’ll move him over to big boy underpants during the day.  Needless to say, Daddy and I are very proud of him.

The last few weeks have been filled with lots of ups and downs.  Sometimes I feel like I’m riding a roller coaster.  A good online friend on mine was diagnosed with breast cancer recently.  Suzy is a wonderful mom to 2 darling little boys, one Bug’s age and one just over a year.  She is a very strong woman and I know that she can beat this.  She has a ton of people pulling for her and sending her tons and tons of positive thoughts and prayers.  With the amount of positive energy heading over the ocean to Ireland, there is no way this cancer stands a chance.  I’m continuing to send lots of good thoughts her way for some good news and good results.

On a good note, my nephew, who was in an ATV accident during the weekend of my 10 year high school reunion  (which I started blogging about, but never posted) has been transferred to a hospital closer to home and seems to be doing much better.  Before he was transferred, he had surgery on his leg to repair the artery in his knee which was severed in the accident.  He also has a broken clavicle.  He’s doing a lot of PT and OT and has really been impressing the doctors with how well he’s been doing.  He can get up and move around and can walk with a walker.  He has also started regaining feeling in his leg, which is a great thing.  The only down side to that is that he has more pain…Gotta take the good with the bad.  I’m going to call him again tonight to check on him and see what the doctors decided about his length of stay.  I’ve been calling to check on him almost every day and I think he really appreciates it.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that he regains feeling in his leg and that he’ll be back up and around in no time.

As for my 10 year reunion, it went well.  I saw several people who I had not seen in person for most of that 10 year span.  I realized that not much has changed.  It’s hard to beleive that most of my classmates are married with kids.  I also realized that my class has the ability to put away the alcohol.  The entire time we were together, there was beer and shots in abundance.  That’s just never been my cup of tea so I avoided it.  Guess I’m still that “good girl” I was 10 years ago.  There were people that I wanted to see that either I missed by not going to dinner (mainly so I could spend time with Bug and take him on rides down at the Lumberjack Festival like I promised) or because they didn’t show.  Maybe for the 15 year…

On Friday, Darling Hubby and I went to see The Police in concert at SPAC.  Elvis Costello and the Imposters performed as the opening act.  It was an amazing concert and they sang many of my favorite songs.  I also, in my 28 years, had my first encounter with someone smoking pot….and let me tell you…I don’t understand how people can willingly smoke that stuff.  I noticed that the smoke cloud it generates is unlike regular smoke.  It doesn’t dispurse, but hovers in a thick mass.  And the smell alone is just…ugh!  The only way I can describe the smell of pot to someone is pretend you are holding a skunk…now light it’s rear on fire…yep, I think pot smells like burning skunk butt…I can only imagine what sort of traffic that statement will generate…Toward the end of the concert I saw the source of the stench and the guy was the sterotypcial stoner.  I leaned over to Darling Hubby and asked him if he thought it would be bad if I walked over to the guy, punched him in the face and shoved the joint into his eye (buring end, of course).  He didn’t think it was a good idea…Oh, and the drunk couple behind us who drank 2 full bottles of wine in less than 2 hours…yeah, the guy had a serious lisp develop and the girls tube dress was significantly lower than it was when they arrived…Anyway, It was a great concert aside from the pot heads and the drunks…and it being Saratoga…

Aside from that, I’ve been working of craft projects in my spare time as well as trying to read and write some.  I’ve been working on a crochet sweater for Darling Hubby as well as a new purse/bag for me in addition to other projects.  Last night my friend Rose helped me go through what I’ve written for the Mystery Romance novel I’ve been working on for some time now.  She really gave me some good ideas as to where to go next as well as pointed out some of my continuity errors.  I’m hoping to eventually get it published and printed.  Maybe it can be a New York Times Best Seller!  lol  Here’s hoping!

2 thoughts on “A Couple Weeks Worth

  1. YAY for the potty training! We’re not dry at night yet.

    I am so glad to hear about your nephew too. That’s much better news.

    Glad the concert was good, despite being surrounded by high people!!!

Leave a Comment

