Crazy Weather We’re Having

Rain and snow and cold in October!  That’s just not right.  So much for all this “global warming,” right?  Yesterday it rained and rained all morning (my backyard was a lake) and by afternoon it was raining and snowing at the same time.  It was strange.  The flakes were big puffy ones, too.  I’d kinda hoped there would be snow on the ground this morning so Bug could go out and play in it (Mommy kinda promised he could) but the ground wasn’t white when we got up this morning.  He’s a little disappointed, but he’s having fun playing in his “rocket ship” he made with a blanket on the couch.  lol  Anyway, he has the start of a cold, so I’m not too sure we would have gone out or stayed out long had there been snow.  Just a little bit ago, when I took the dogs out it’s doing this sleety, rain, pellety thing.  There will be snow eventually…When I called my mom yesterday she said they already had a foot and a half of snow…and that was at noon.  Course, they live on a mountaintop…I’m sure that had a lot to do with it.  lol

We still haven’t turned on our furnace, yet.  I’m still trying to make it until November 1st.  Only 3 more days.  I’ve been burning fires like crazy (and sitting directly in front of them) to keep the house warm enough and it seems to be doing the trick.  I keep it going during they day, we stoke it good before bed and Darling Hubby gets it going again in the morning before he leaves for work.  The house is kinda cold, but for now it’s dealable.  I just need to figure out where the draft is coming from when I’m sitting on the couch.  We pretty much live in warm pajamas, sweatshirts, socks and slippers.  Blankets, hot tea and hot chocolate with marshmallows are wonderful, too.  I’ve broken out the flannel sheets and extra comforters.  We broke out the winter coats, too.  Even my little dogs have been wearing their sweaters to keep from freezing (although they shiver when it’s 90* so I’m surprised they aren’t ice cubes…lol)  When Bug gets his computer time in the office, which is the room farthest from the fireplace, I cocoon him in a big fleece blanket with only his head and right arm out so he can see and use the mouse.  lol  He may look funny, but at least he’s warm!

Since we’ve been cooped up inside a lot, I’ve been working on crocheting.  I’m working on a Gatsby Sweater by Peter Franzi for Darling Hubby from the Son of Stitch and Bitch book.  It’s coming along nicely…this time.  This is actually the 3rd time I’ve started this sweater since July.  I kept having issues with it looking like a rhombus rather than a rectangle and with having either too many or too few stitches.  I’ve been doing better with counting and I think I might be able to get away without blocking it as it’s pretty rectangular.  I have 19 of the 25 inches for the back done and then I can start the next step.  I’m really hoping that I’ll get it done soon so Darling Hubby can wear it.   I’m also hoping that it’s not going to be huge.  It looks enormous!  lol  But, I’d rather it be big than too small.

Well, I’m off to curl up in front of the fire with a ball of yarn and a crochet hook and get that sweater another few inches closer to being done.

Leave a Comment

