Decisions…

I’m knitting a scarf for my mom for Christmas and it’s going along well.  I’m trying to decide if I want to make her a hat to go along with it.  If that’s the case…I need more yarn…I think I’ll be done with the scarf tonight at craft night.  I only have about 20 more inches to go to get it the desired length.  I think I’ll have enough yarn.  The skein I’m using only had a little taken out of it.  I know I won’t have enough for a hat, though.  I’m also planning a scarf for someone else (who may stumble on this blog) and I’d like to use the same knit every row pattern that I’m doing using the same needles, but I’d use a light color yarn (cream) and for some reason the size 8 Boye needles I have leave bluish/black marks on my fingers from where the paint is coming off and I’m afraid it will leave dirty marks on light yarn.  I dislike that my needles leave the marks.  I don’t think it’s from anything I’ve done wrong.  I just think it’s a crappy pair of needles.  I got them as part of an I can learn to knit kit.  I didn’t have the trouble with my purple size 6’s.

I also have to decide if I want to make a scarf on the circular needles I borrowed from my friend.  They are still too long for what I had originally intended to use them for but I was thinking I could do a scarf, in the round, length wise rather than going row by row on the width.  Maybe I could avoid the curling that happened to my stockinette stitch scarf I made myself.   Just a thought.  I think I’d also like to make a hat for this person, too.  I’ve got a perfect pattern picked out.  I’ll have to see.

So, the things I need to finish before Christmas are:

  • Red Knit scarf (mostly done)
  • Cream Knit scarf (not started)
  • 2 crocheted hats – red and cream – (not started)
  • Grandpa’s Blanket (mostly done – couple more rows and fringe)
  • Convertible Flap Mittens (not started, but these won’t take long)
  • Deer Stalker Hat for my Dad (this is mostly done, but I hit a snag point and I’m having trouble moving on.
  • Darling Hubby’s sweater (I don’t necessarily have to finish this, but it would be nice)

I’m sure I’ll have something else to add to the list.  It always seems to work that way.  Hopefully I can cross off some stuff, in the next few days.  I also still have to paint my minotaur mini…we may be playing next week depending on everyone’s schedule.

Leave a Comment

