If It’s Not One Thing

It’s another.

Bug and I got up this morning.  I started his laundry, cleaned the ashes out of the fireplace and started a fire, got him breakfast, hung up his laundry, started cooking some ground beef for spaghetti sauce, added the cans of crushed tomatoes, sauce and paste to the crock pot and went downstairs to the basement to get a pack of peppers from the freezer and another can of tomato sauce when I noticed water on the floor in Darling Hubby’s room.  The first thought that went through my head was, “Oh $hit!  The pipe from the washer came undone again.”  (This happened one other time when the drainage pipe from the toilet dropped about 6 inches (we still blame it on Sean and his peaches) and the washer drain pipe pulled away from the main pipe and poured about 3-4 large and x-large loads of laundry water all over the basement before I caught it.)

Upon entering the room, I saw the water was in a completely different area and after further investigation (getting down on my hands and knees and feeling around, I found that the big sewer pipe running from the bathroom on the first floor has a 3 foot crack along the underside of it.  Great…just great…It must have just happened because Darling Hubby was down there last night and there was no water…and it didn’t happen on Wednesday (the last time I did laundry), so it must have been today.  I wonder how long this has been in the works.

So for now, I’m not doing anymore laundry (I don’t need to until Monday anyway) and I’m making sure the 1st floor bathroom doesn’t get used.  I think I caught it pretty quickly and nothing got damaged badly and there wasn’t a ton of water everywhere.  I’m thankful that my kitchen sink is on a different pipe system from the bathroom or else I wouldn’t be able to cook or do dishes.  I’m also thankful I had to go down to get peppers and sauce from the pantry room or I’m not sure when it would have been found.

I’m not sure what we’ll do to fix this.  Darling Hubby seems to think that he can swap the pipe out with some PVC piping.  At least he has all next week off to get it figured out (minus Turkey Day).  I just hope it doesn’t cost a lot of money.  I might be running a garden hose from the washer into the kitchen sink so I can wash clothes…Thankfully, we have a second bathroom.

On a good note, I got the red crochet hat finished last night.  I modified it so it would be more of a winter hat that covered the ears and I’m pretty satisfied with it.  I have a ton of the yarn left over that Darling Hubby picked up for me (cause wouldn’t you know it I’d only need a little bit) so I might be making one for me!  lol

I also got about 16 inches done on the cream scarf in 2 days.  I seem to be making more progress on it than I did with the red one, but that’s probably because I didn’t have to tear it all out and start again…and I’m being mindful of dropped stitches and mistakes. So for now, I’ve got 2 things done on my very long list…

  • Red Knit scarf (Finished 11/19/08)
  • Cream Knit scarf (started 11/19)
  • Crocheted hat – red (Started 11/19/08 – ran out of yarn – finished 11/20)
  • Crocheted hat  – cream
  • Grandpa’s Blanket (mostly done – few more rows and fringe)
  • Convertible Flap Mittens (not started, but these won’t take long)
  • Deer Stalker Hat for my Dad (this is mostly done, but I hit a snag point and I’m having trouble moving on.
  • Darling Hubby’s sweater (I don’t necessarily have to finish this, but it would be nice)

Off to stir my spaghetti sauce and work a little on the cream scarf.  I don’t foresee getting much of it done this week with Darling Hubby being on vacation and 2 Thanksgivings to go to…

3 thoughts on “If It’s Not One Thing

  1. Pingback: Food For Friday (Saturday ed.) 11/24 -11/30 & 12/1-12/7 « Sarandipity

  2. Pingback: Plumbing is Fixed! « Sarandipity

  3. Pingback: Happy Turkey Day! « Sarandipity

Leave a Comment

