Monday Monday

Darling Hubby has this week off so we’ve schedule a bunch of stuff to get done this week.  Today was the car inspection and oil change.  Darling Hubby also went and bought my Christmas present.  It’s hidden somewhere in the basement, but I promise not to go looking for it.  I actually look forward to the surprise of opening a present on Christmas morning…although the thought of knowing that it’s here in the house just kills me some days!

It was decided last week that we would move our game night to tonight, but since one player had his days mixed up, we had to cancel.  I had already canceled going to my craft night and I could have easily said, “hey, count me in again,” but since I had already made plans to spend the night with Darling Hubby I decided that I would do that still.  Yes, I’ll miss the girls and the pizza Leana is bringing, but I also have to dye my hair.  My roots are showing badly and I so don’t want to look bad for the family on Thanksgiving.  I’m vain, I know!  It’s also bad genes!

Right now I’m waiting for dinner to finish cooking.  Since I was staying home, and Darling Hubby decided he wanted bbq pulled pork sandwiches for dinner,

This is the recipe I followed for Easy Crockpot BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches.

2.5 lb pork roast (frozen or semi frozen is fine)
3/4 – 1 cup vinegar (I used cider vinegar)
1/2 cup kechup
2 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp worchesrshire sauce
1 clove garlic (1/8 tsp powder)
1 tsp mustard (dry or prepared yellow)
1 tsp paprika
1/2-1 tsp salt
1/8 tsp black pepper
2 Tbsp cornstarch

Place roast (with fat side up) in crockpot (I used a 2-3 qt) and mix all ingredients, except cornstarch, together, pour over roast.  Cover and set on low for 7-8 hours.  Remove pork to a separate plate, add 2 Tbsp cornstarch to remaining bbq sauce.  Shred pork with 2 forks and return to sauce to warm.  Serve on kaiser rolls with french fries.

If you are feeling adventurous, like I was today, make your own kaiser rolls.  I whipped up a batch of french bread dough in my bread machine.  I cut it into 8 equal sections, rolled into ropes, tied in a knot, folded one end up and pressed into the middle then folded the other end down and tucked it into the bottom.  Space evenly on a greased sheet pan.  Cover and let rise in a warm place 40 minutes or until double in size. Rub with a salt water glaze (2Tbsp water and 1/2 tsp salt) and bake for 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees.

The verdict  (I finished this post after dinner)- I’ve used this BBQ sauce recipe in the past and for some reason it didn’t have the same zing. Normally I brown pork ribs before I toss them in rather than immersing a whole pork roast.  Possibly the fat from the meat cooked out and diluted the taste.  I also wonder if I didn’t put in enough ketchup (I squirted it in and didn’t measure) or vinegar (I used the lower amount).  I also used the lower amount of salt and thought it could have used a bit more salt.  The meat was very tender and was falling apart before I could get it out of the crockpot.

As for the rolls, I liked the taste of the bread with the meat.  The bread was denser than a normal kaiser roll, almost like a ciabata bread.  I think if I make these rolls again for such a purpose, I won’t knot them, but will rather roll them into roll sized balls and bake them.

It was an experiment, what can I say.

Off to dye my hair and shower.  Tomorrow I’ll post all about Bug’s first ever dentist appt.  Hopefully he’ll open his mouth and be a good boy.  I think he will, but you never know with almost 4 year olds.

Leave a Comment

