4 Years Ago

I know I haven’t been around much lately.  I’ve still been reading blogs and such, but either haven’t had much to say or the inability to put my thoughts into words.  Plus, there was some drama that I was dealing with, alongside some of my online mommy friends.  Now that the dust has settled some, I think I should get back to blogging and putting my thoughts in order.

Let’s see…what have I been up to lately…Thursday was spent frosting cupcakes for Bug’s birthday party this past Saturday.  He’d been asking for “monster cupcakes” since a new years party we went to at a Borders Store.  They handed out a little booklet of cupcake ideas and has been going on about them since.  Wednesday I spent a portion of the morning figuring out how to make marbleized cupcakes without making a huge mess and Thursday I spent attempting to make those monster cupcakes from the book, materialize in my kitchen.  While the finished product wasn’t exactly what was in the book (or in my head), Bug was over the moon.  It melted my heart when, after showing him the finished cupcakes, he said, “Thanks Mommy, for making monster cupcakes for my birthday.”

Looking back, 4 years ago Thursday, I spent the day in labor (starting at 1am) and after a day filled with timing contractions and cutting Darling Hubby’s hair, I was finally admitted into the hospital…I was only 2 weeks overdue.  Apparently Bug just wasn’t ready to make his appearance into the cold of January.  After 32 hours of labor, Bug was born via c-section on January 30th at 12:12pm.  I can’t believe it’s been 4 years already! (Here’s Bug’s birth story for those than want to read it and get all nostalgic with me.)

Here are a few pictures of Bug 4th birthday party this Saturday.

Birthday Boy with his Silly Monster Cupcakes.

Birthday Boy and his Monster Cupcakes

Bug pointing out which cupcake he wanted to eat once the guests arrived.
He actually sat at the table for at least 15 minutes forlornly looking at the cupcakes and asking if it was time for his birthday.  It was kinda sad.

Pointing out which cupcake he wanted

Birthday Boy turns 4!

Birthday Boy

Oh No!  They’re singing!  Make them stop!
He hates singing…he did the same thing at his 2nd birthday…except this year he didn’t cry.

Oh No!  They're singing!

Make a wish!

Make a wish

Oohh!  Legos!

Legos!

Wow!  Lex Luthor!

Lex Luthor

It’s…It’s…It’s…A Matchbox Haunted House!

Haunted House

Yeah!  I got Optimus Prime! (along with Prowl and Megatron)

Optimus Prime

Birthday boy and party guests playing with the Haunted House.

Kids playing with toys

Friday (Bug’s actual birthday) I had a dentist appointment to see about getting a broken tooth fixed in addition to some cavities.  I haven’t been to the dentist in a long time and am very overdue for even a cleaning.  At least I got some good news about the broken tooth.  I can get away with just getting a filling and not a root canal like Darling Hubby had.  After a trip to the grocery store and some lunch Bug had his 4 year well visit with the doctor.  He did good for that.  He’s now 39″ tall (short compared all the other 4 year olds I know) and 35lbs.  Everything was going well until it was time for the shots.  This office does the shots together to reduce the trauma to the kids.  I held Bug tight to me and the nurses gave a shot in each arm on  the count of 3.  Well, the one nurse wasn’t holding Bug’s arm and when she inserted the needle, he pulled away, screaming before she could inject him with the medicine.  Poor thing had to be stuck an extra time.  At least the crying didn’t last long.  We took him to the book store afterwards to kill some time before dinner and then we went to Friendly’s (where “ice cream makes the meal”) to make it all up to him.

Since he’s turned 4, I’ve noticed Bug advancing in all sorts of things.  He can now use an X-box controller well enough to play some games (you’d be amazed at how good he is at some).  He can, if he puts his mind to it, color between the lines.  He has started pointing out and naming letters and asking what things say.  He can add simple numbers with his fingers.  He is getting better at writing his name and we are slowly working on writing different letters, too.

My little boy is growing up to fast, but honestly, I really love this age.

Leave a Comment

