C is for Chocolate Cake Cookies

Tonight is our Dungeons and Dragons roleplaying  night and for dinner we are having some Asian style food made with fake chicken (being provided by our vegetarian friend).  I decided that for dessert I was going to try something new, something that I’d never done before.  It’s not Asian style, but it was easy and it used up the extra box of chocolate cake mix I bought for Bug’s birthday cupcakes, but didn’t need, and the half a container of cream cheese frosting that’s residing in my fridge just tempting me to eat it by the spoonful.

I read this wonderful blog called Annie’s Eats where she shares all sorts of yummy sounding recipes from baby food to pasta to homemade desserts.  A couple weeks ago she posted this recipe for Chocolate Cake Cookie Sandwiches.  It’s easy people!

Take one box of your favorite cake mix (I used a store brand deep chocolate cake mix – the original recipe from Crepes of Wrath used a spice cake mix, which sounds delightful, too) a stick of butter and 1 egg, both at room temperature.  Mix ’em together, roll dough into 1 inch balls, press flat on a cookie sheet (I used a silpat on a cookie sheet – no need to grease) and bake 8 mins.

(Sorry in advance for my crap lackluster photography.)

Ready for the oven

It’s that simple.  For the full recipe and for the homemade frosting recipe, go here)

I used a 2 tsp sized melon baller/scoop which yielded approx. 3.5 dozen cookies.

Cookies

To make the sandwiches, just match them up by size and put a dollop of frosting in the middle and press together.  You can even roll them in sprinkles or other decorations to make them pretty.  They are even good enough to enjoy plain (without frosting.)

Cookie Sandwiches

Go check out Annie’s Eats.  I’m eying the red velvet cheesecake recipe.  It looks utterly divine!  I might have to get the ingredients and whip one up for Valentine’s day this year!

2 thoughts on “C is for Chocolate Cake Cookies

Leave a Comment

