30 Day Shred – Day 1

Today was my first day of exercising in years and let me tell you, I’m so out of shape!  lol

Bug woke up around 6:45 when Darling Hubby got up to shower.  My alarm went off at 7 and it took me a little while before I could muster my rear end out of my nice comfy warm cocoon.  I was up by 7:15 and saw Darling Hubby off to work.  Bug decided he wanted to play his new Spiderman Leapster game and since I didn’t want an audience my first time out of the exercise gate, I told him he could play it in my room for a while.  He happily obliged.

I set out my pilates mat and my 2lb weights, tied on my sneaks, popped in the DVD and started the workout on level 1.  Let’s just say the cardio was the worst for me.  I had no trouble with the jumping jacks or the jump rope portion to start, but toward the end it was all I could do to get my feet to leave the floor.  My muscles no longer wanted to cooperate with me.    I enjoyed the stretches and I could definitely feel the burn in my thighs during the lunges and a little in my arms doing the chest flys with the 2lb weights.  My lungs were burning by the end and I felt really dizzy and weak for quite a about an hour after finishing the dvd.  I was done just a few minutes before 8am and I’ll be honest that I didn’t do the final stretch because I was fighting hard not to pass out or throw up!  lol  My only concern for myself is that I’m not always sure I’m doing the exercises 100% correctly.  I’m sure I’ll eventually get them right by the end!  lol

It took me a long time to get up off the floor when I was done as I was super dizzy and really just wanted to lay down.  It was so hard to pick my feet up to take off my sneakers…it was kinda sad!  I made it to the couch where I sat for a while.  Bug came downstairs about 15 minutes later and I managed to get up and do a couple things for him without collapsing in a heap.  I did a few things on the computer and finally made it upstairs to shower.  Darling Hubby even called me from work to make sure I hadn’t died or anything.  He’s so sweet.

I did have a nice surprise before I got in the shower.  I put a brand new battery in my scale as it wasn’t registering anything (just coming up “low”) and when I stepped on, I actually weighed 155!  I’m already down 10 lbs from my start weight!  lol  I guess the other battery was so low the last time I weighed myself several weeks ago (It’s been showing “low” for a while now and I just changed the battery) that it was giving me the completely wrong weight!  So, I guess I’ve got to change my goal weight, now!  lol

For now, I think I’ll stick with the 15lb goal bringing me to a new goal weight of 140.  I don’t know how much weight I’m going to lose using the dvd, but I’m hoping for at least 10lbs if not more (it does say 20lbs in 30 days, so we shall see.)  I did do a little research this morning to see what my ideal weight should be and I’ve found that for my height of a meager 5’3″ I should weight somewhere between 130lbs and 145lbs, depending on how much of that is muscle.  I think I’m also looking for some more strenght and endurance, too, not just weight loss.  I’m sure, regardless of the outcome after the 30 days, I’ll be happy that I pulled off getting on the exercise bandwagon.

So, what do I think after day 1?  Well, I’m feeling really good about it!  After I got out of the shower I started feeling great (all those endorphins.)  I managed to get breakfast for myself and Bug, laundry washed and hung to dry, dried clothes folded and put away, beds made, the living room vacuumed and straightened and the dogs walked and fed.  I still have to clean my kitchen and give Max a bath, but I’m going to take a break and have an egg salad sandwich for lunch.  I don’t know if I’ll be paying for the exercise coming morning, but honestly, I’m looking forward to day 2!  That’s gotta say something!

One thought on “30 Day Shred – Day 1

  1. Sara, your plan is genius. Making the bed is something we only do when we wash the sheets (mostly weekly, but on occasion, longer). If you make the bed, you feel too guilty to return to it. Brilliant.

    This is a wee bit impulsive on my part, but I may just join you in trying to exercise every day for 30 days (and maybe lose a little weight). I was 128 in high school when I swam 2 hours a day, 5 days a week. I’m only 5’1″, but I build muscle like a man, so even though I was “overweight” (according to the same “they” who think you are) I was pretty solid. I am about 140 now, but I think I can get down to 135 reasonably, maybe 128 if I really work at it.

    I figure I’ve gotten a head start – we went to Scottish Country Dancing today for the first time since we moved here. It’s 2 hours of cardio. The rest of the week I’ll be working on redoing the bathroom floor (weightlifting, maybe some cardio), but I can maybe aim for 20 minutes on Wii Fit every day, and maybe I could go the the rec center that comes with my HOA fee. The rec center has a hot tub to reward me. This could be good.

    The only tough spot for me could be my diet. I have a mild form of gluten intolerance. I’ve discovered I can eat gluten without most of the consequences if I take probiotics as well. The only consequences that came back are the weight gain and some of the insomnia. Those are partly due to my thyroid thing as well. The gluten and the thyroid could hold me back, but I won’t use it as an excuse.

    Yep, I’m going to do this. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Comment

