30 Day Shred – Day 4

So today is not a good day.  Not because of the shred, but because of other things.  I woke up around 4am feeling sick to my stomach.  I gutted it out and went back to sleep, but woke up before 7 still feeling gross.  I opted to stay in bed (I brought Bug in so he could watch tv) and stayed there for a while and eventually I started feeling better.

We came downstairs and grabbed some breakfast.  I decided I was feeling up to doing day 4, so I did.  I probably shouldn’t have, but I did.  I even pushed myself a little harder cause while I was doing the work out I was feeling pretty good.  I even managed to do the jump rope portion properly and made it through the final cardio portion without stopping once.  Yeah!  Go me!

After the final stretches I started getting a headache and shortly after my stomachache returned.  I’ve pretty much been curled up on the couch in a fetal position since.  We are supposed to be having people over for our roleplaying game tonight and I’m hoping that whatever this is that’s got me down goes away so I can have fun.  Maybe taking some motrin will help my head which will hopefully help my stomach…I’m wondering if I should take a day off on this exercising thing…maybe all this is just too much on me…I haven’t seen any weight loss…just an increase, although I haven’t weighed myself today…

One thought on “30 Day Shred – Day 4

  1. You poor thing. Exercise isn’t supposed to make you sick. Maybe just do a light version rather than stopping completely for a day.

    You may be eating more to compensate for the fact that you are burning more calories – your body hasn’t adjusted to the new metabolism yet. That could explain the weight gain. You could also be retaining water for some reason. That is usually the reason for quick weight gain.

    If you’re drinking a lot of water, you could be getting hyponatremic (too little salt in the blood, essentially). Try drinking gatorade or something like that when you exercise. My doctor also recommended quinine water (tonic water). Hyponatremia can cause headaches and muscle cramps.

    Hang in there, and I hope you feel better tomorrow.

Leave a Comment

