30 Day Shred – Pilates Instead

I woke up this morning with a dull throbbing in the side of my knee and decided to give myself a break from the shred as I didn’t want to injure it further.  I still wanted to work out (like I told Nikkie who commented on a prior post, I feel guilty when I don’t, even though I don’t miss the workout if I skip it) but didn’t want the high impact of the cardio jumping with Jillian.  I’ve had a Denise Austin Pilates for Everybody DVD for many years now and knew it would be lower impact than the shred.  I bought it when Darling Hubby and I were living in our apartment, back when I was on my pilates kick (it didn’t last very long, however.)

I enjoyed the workout and felt very relaxed and stretched out afterward.  I’m sure I didn’t burn a lot of calories as I didn’t get my heart rate up, but I could feel the workout in my abs and my legs, toning and strengthening.  I think I might add this dvd to my workout routine.  I really would like to be able to fully use my abs for the pilates floor moves (the roll-ups, etc).  Right now, my abs are pretty weak and I have trouble rolling back up without using my arms to give me a boost.  It takes time, I know…I just want to see results.

I also wanted to get out for a walk today, but Bug didn’t want to go when I wanted to go and now it’s getting dreary and dark out.  I think it might rain…I’ll check the weather and maybe we can go out to play in the yard rather than a walk.  I don’t want to get caught out in the rain away from the house.  I could lug the umbrella, but it’s a golf umbrella and is rather large…

Plus, I have to straighten up my house and come up with something for dinner.  It’s our game night tonight so the gang is coming over…we didn’t decide to do dinner as a group, so we are fending for ourselves for food.  Maybe I’ll make Hamburger Helper or something fast.

Oh, and speaking of game night, I got a package in the mail from Barbara over at Knittin & Kittens.  She sent me an awesome d20 keychain!  Maybe it will be my lucky charm at the table tonight!  It’s a clear die with purplish sparkles inside.  Oddly enough, I have the same set in my collection!   Depending how they roll in my pre-game ritual (yes, I’m slightly superstitious with my dice) maybe I’ll be using that set.  Thanks Barbara!  It was an awesome little surprise in the mail today!

Off to clean…

Leave a Comment

