30 Day Shred – Day 16 – Level 3

I did it!  I did level 3!  Honestly, it was so much easier than level 2.  Someone once said to me that level 3 was evil…I have to disagree…I think level 2 is evil…especially those oblique twists and plank twists!  I had some trouble with a few of the moves, but I had the same trouble just starting out in level 1.  I’ve come to the conclusion that I can’t do a sit-up to save my life!  lol  I’m going to have to work on that.

The Superman position is similar to the swimming move in pilates (except you don’t move your arms up and down alternately.)  I can do the push-ups in level 1 and 2, but I’m having some trouble with the walking push-ups.  I like the plank move where you go down on your elbows, though.  That’s just challenging enough and I don’t have to do it on my knees.  I also enjoyed the mountain climbers.  It’s a much better move for me than the plank thrusts.  I can keep my heart rate up and it doesn’t kill my knees. I’m not a fan of the lunges (mainly cause it hurts my knees) and there is no way in hadies I can do the jumping lunges.  I don’t think I’ll ever get the hang of the jump training.  I think I need slow and simple moves.

The move that I had the most trouble with, oddly enough, was the rock star jump.  They make it look so easy!  The sumo jump was difficult and for my first time through, I had trouble doing more than 4 at a time without having to pause for a beat or 2.  Tomorrow should be better now that I’ve done the moves and know what to expect.

As for weights I’ve mostly been using my 2 lb weights for since switching to level 2.  I couldn’t do most of the moves in level 2 with my 5lb-ers.  I had to use my 5lbs today for one of the moves, the one in plank position with the arm and leg lifts.  My 2lb weights don’t have a lot of clearnance from the floor and I couldn’t comfortably hold the weight and hold myself up without cracking my knuckles.  I did like the jumping jacks with the weights.  I think that’s going to do some major work on my flabby arms!  I also liked shadow boxer punches with the weights.  That was one of my favorite moves from level 1.

I’ve been watching what I’ve been eating and I’ve been doing well keeping my food journal on here updated.  Today I haven’t had too many snacks and I’m planning to have something in a little while while watching Lost.  I’ve been having trouble getting a good nights sleep and I’m hoping that if I eat an appropriate snack an hour or so before bed, I’ll be able to sleep through the night.  I need to get up tomorrow morning at 7 as I have to make 2 loaves of bread for game night and each takes about 4 hours in the bread machine.  I also found that when I get a good nights sleep I’m in a better mood.  Darling Hubby likes it when I’m in a good mood…it puts him in a good mood.  He also likes it when I get up with him in the morning.  I just want to make him happy.  🙂

Overall, I like level 3.  I’m looking forward to doing it again tomorrow.  Go me!

Leave a Comment

