Memorial Day Weekend and 30 Day Shred – Day 22

We had a nice Memorial Day weekend.  It started Friday when I carried a barefoot Bug 2 blocks down the street to catch the ice cream truck so he could have his Batman Popcicle that he originally wanted on Wednesday…when I didn’t have any cash in my pocket.  Saturday we went grocery shopping and Darling Hubby went to the airport to pick up our friend Dave and his family who were flying back in after a vacation in Florida.  Later that day I did some weeding in a couple of our front flower beds and weed whacked the grass (my arms were pretty sore afterward).  Sunday we went to the mall for a little bit.  I picked up a couple dime books to hold my dime collection from the coin store and then we went to the book store where we found a couple good deals.  Then it was to Walmart to pick up a few items and some lunch and ran home so I could get a Joann’s coupon that I left at home.  That was the bulk of my exercising…no shredding on the weekends.

After lunch we went to Target and Joann’s and on the way I practiced my parallel parking.  I’m getting better at it.  I made 4 attempts and they improved each time.  Go me!  lol   At Target we picked up some new sandals for Bug.  His other ones were getting a little snug.  Then I picked up some fabric to use on the backing of Bug’s Wheels on the Bus blanket at Joann’s.  I’m not going to weave in all those little ends from each of those squares  (I’ll never finish by September!) so I’m going to cover them with a fabric backing.  I chose a brown flannel that matches the color of the tree trunk.  I figured something neutral and that would hide dirt would be best.  It’s also a light weight fabric so it’s not going to make the blanket overly warm or heavy.  I also picked up some yarn to make a lacy cardigan (Rav link) for me to wear over my sun dresses this summer (I hope to finish it before Father’s day so I can wear it for my birthday) and baby blanket (Rav link) as a surprise for someone.  I chose lavender Pound of Love for the blanket and I’m loving the yarn.  It’s super soft and the pattern that’s included (the hooded baby blanket) works up fast and so touchably soft.  After 2 days of working on it a little here and there, I’m over half way done.  I’m debating on adding the hood.  Having looked at other crocheters finished products on Ravelry, I’m not 100% sure I like the hood.  I also think that the hood is meant for infants and the blanket could get more use over a longer period of time without the hood.  I guess I’ll crochet that bridge when I get to it.

Yesterday we stayed home all day.  We had a picnic lunch on the patio and I got some sun – I don’t want to be bright white this summer!  After lunch Bug’s super-hearing picked up on the ice cream trucks’ jingle and we let him have one more Popsicle (I could go broke if we buy something every time the truck drives by!).  It’s so cute how excited he got!

Waiting for the Ice Cream Truck

Waiting for the truck to come down the street.

Wouldn't take his eyes off the truck!

He wouldn’t take his eyes off the truck, even when Daddy called his name.

Yeah for Popsicles

He was so polite.  He said, “Hey, thanks mister!” to the lady in the truck. lol

Ice Cream!

Yeah for Spider-man Popsicles!

That afternoon we had a BBQ and Darling Hubby grilled some chicken and baked potatoes on the grill.  I made some baked beans and sweet corn on the cob.  It was a delishous feast!  Bug even ate an ear and a half (I broke each ear in half)…he loves him some corn on the cob!  We stayed outside for much of the day, blowing bubbles, swinging on the tire swing, playing in the dirt and munching on make-shift s’mores – I only had mini marshmallows, a few graham crackers and left over chocolate Easter eggs. – we wrapped them in foil and set them on the grill to melt.

Despite yesterday being Monday…today feels like it should be Monday.  I feel so thrown off!  I had a hard time motivating myself today, even after getting a good night’s sleep.  I did finally do my shred before lunch and it felt good, even though it felt a little tougher…probably from taking 3 days off.  I’m getting better about a lot of the stuff.  I can do the easy version of the sit-ups (for the most part) and I can hold my own on the scissor crunches.  I still can’t get the hang of the walking push-ups, though…maybe someday!  As for weight, yesterday when I weighed in for the weight loss challenge on my Mommy board I was back up to 155lbs…today I was back down to 154lbs (and that was after eating breaky and shredding)…go figure…lol  Hopefully, I’ll drop down some this week.  I’m going to be very good about watching what I eat this week.  Hopefully I’ll be better motivated the rest of the week…

One thought on “Memorial Day Weekend and 30 Day Shred – Day 22

  1. Sounds like a busy fun weekend! Love the pictures of bug getting his ice cream treat! Keep up the shredding, I can see your calf muscles and yea to shredding, lol!

Leave a Comment

