30 Day Shred – Day 26, 27 & 28

I’m been kinda a slacker when it comes to blogging as of late, but I haven’t been a slacker when it comes to the shred.  I’ve diligently done the past 3 days.  I only have 2 more days to go!  In all honesty, I’m looking forward to being done with it!  I think I’m getting burned out and today it felt like I had to force myself to get off the couch and do it.  Of course, I was watching videos of Bug from when he was little, so that made it even harder!

I’ve come to the conclusion that I just cannot do the rock star jumps and when I do I feel like I’m doing them wrong and I’m not keeping my heart rate elevated.  I just don’t feel like they are doing anything for me.  The past 2 days I’ve substituted a round of butt kicks and a round of high knees (from level 2) in their place and I’ve felt much better for it.  It gets my heart pumping more and I’m burning off some fat (or at least I can hope!)

Since I’ve almost accomplished my goal (actually doing all 30 days and proving Darling Hubby wrong) I’m thinking about what I want to do next.  I was highly considering going to my Belly Dancing DVD that I’ve had for a while but never go into (I was too self conscious about my fat jiggling around…lol) but now I’m thinking of sticking with Jillan and trying out her Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism DVD.  A friend of mine online suggested it, saying that if we didn’t think she was evil in the shred, we’d think she was in this video.  lol So, I checked it out online (You Tube) and it’s 45 minutes of shred level intensity!!!  Oh. My. God!  But, the thing is, they make it look so easy, which makes me think that I could try it.  However, they don’t offer many modification for some of the exercises like they do in the shred.  Some are the same from the Shred so I know mods for those.  I just worry that I won’t be able to do it all (I don’t know if I’m coordinated enough for the kick boxing stuff) and I’ll feel like I’m “phoning it in” to quote a line from Jillian herself.   I do think that some of the exercises look better than what I’m doing in level 3 and seem to target the areas where I need it the most…I guess I’ll have to think about it a little longer.

It’s actually kinda funny that I’m even considering different DVD’s.  If you asked me a month ago if I would want to continue working out I probably would have laughed at you and told you flat out, “no.”  I figured I’d get my fill of working out from this one DVD and would be settled.  Ok, I have gotten my fill of the DVD, but I’m not completely happy with my weight still (although I have lost inches in places, which does cheer me up quite a bit) and I’m hoping that something different will help me get to my goal weight.

In the weight department, I’ve found that I’ve I’ve hit a wall, a plateau, if you will.  I’ve been stuck at 155lbs for the past 2 weeks and, despite the fact I dropped to 154 for just a few days, I haven’t changed much at all.  It’s a little disappointing.  I was really hoping to drop down to 150 (5lbs) before my birthday (June 22), but I don’t see that happening at all, now.  I’ve been trying to watch what I eat, but I’m usually starving by evening and all the snack food in my house is junk food and I just have no self control when it comes to junk food, especially chocolate…I just can’t stop at one piece.  I think I need to find an inexpensive (I don’t want to shell out a ton of money on those diet bars that taste like chal) low calorie, yet filling, snack that I can eat around 8-9pm.  Anyone have any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “30 Day Shred – Day 26, 27 & 28

  1. You know, I like Fiber One Oats and Chocolate Bars. They are 140 Calories each, and they tend to be very filling because they are so high in fiber. They taste good, like candy. There are also a few other varieties – I am planning to try the Oats and Caramel soon. They have a strawberry version which has 5% less fat than the chocolate variety. Is that in the league of what you are looking for?

Leave a Comment

