18 Week Update

I’ve been reading a few pregnancy related blog posts through my tag surfer on wordpress and I’ve seen some moms filling out a little questionnaire each week or so with information about their pregnancies.  I thought this was a cute idea and decided I would do the same.  Here is my version of my weekly update.

Week: Approx. 18 weeks

Weight gain total: 5 lbs – the doctor told me that he didn’t want to see me gain a lot until after 20 weeks and I’ve been holding pretty steady at around 4-5 lbs overall.  After my 50+ lb weight gain with Bug, I’m trying to be really diligent about what I’m eating.  This time around I don’t have a parade of people at work feeding me sweets (read: snickers bars, twizzlers and hot chocolate) on a daily basis, so that might help me keep my weight under control!  I’m looking for maybe 20lbs over all…

Cravings/Aversions: I’ve kinda been in the mood for pudding lately.  I also wanted brownies at 7pm the other night.  No aversions…I love food!

Pregnancy symptoms: Thankfully, my morning sickness went away around week 13ish and I’ve been feeling really good since then.  My energy level is back up, although my brain still has trouble finding motivation to get up and do things…but that’s nothing new for me!  My moods have also improved.  I don’t snap at everyone and yell as much as I did during the first trimester.  I’m still peeing a lot during the day and get up at least once, if not twice, during the night.  I’ve also noticed that my breasts seem to be a little fuller than a few weeks ago.  I do feel hungrier sometimes, but, like I said, I’m trying to be good about not eating myself out of house and home!  Oh, and the gas!  Yeah…I’m super gassy…thankfully I’m home alone most of the time, so no one can really complain about that, but me and the dogs!

Clothing: I’m still able to wear my non-maternity clothes…probably for a few more weeks.  Since I lost 15lbs prior to getting pregnant, my clothes were falling off me, literally.  Just the other day I noticed my pants are getting a little snugger, but they are still loose and falling down, just not as much.  I’m starting to show a little bit, but I’m still kinda in the “I look fat, but I’m really pregnant” stage of things.

Baby: I started feeling movement on Friday (around 12/11) and I think my nickname of Fidget from 2 weeks ago is very appropriate.  I really notice the movement at night when I’m going the bed, but throughout the day I feel a few little bumps.  I swear the baby had the hiccups last night cause I felt lots of rhythmic bumps in the same place for a long time.  The baby is actually really strong already and I was able to feel the movement from the outside as well as internally.  Darling Hubby hasn’t felt it yet, but tried last night and, go figure, as soon as he moved his hand away it started moving again…lol  I hope that doesn’t mean it’s going to be a difficult child!

Sex Predictions:  Well, we are hoping for another boy (although Bug wants a sister).  Some days I say boy and some days I say girl…lately I’ve been wanting to refer to it as he…maybe my mind is telling me something?  We’ll find out (hopefully) on Tuesday morning!

Hopefully I’ll be updating next week with the gender and a better idea of my due date…just in time for Christmas!

Leave a Comment

