Ultrasound Results

So, I had my big ultrasound this morning and Darling Hubby came along with me.   We found out that Fidget is a BOY and true to his nickname, he wouldn’t really hold still for the u/s tech!  Bug is going to be so disappointed when we tell him (he’s at school still).  He really had his heart set on a baby sister (why, we don’t know! lol)  I’ve had a nagging feeling he wasn’t going to get his wish from week 12 when I heard the heartbeat for the first time and it was really close to Bug’s around the same time frame.

The baby looked great and the u/s tech didn’t see any problems.  The heart looked good and was beating at about 148bpm, down for the 158 it had been at for the past 2 months.  There were no problems with the spine, the brain looked good and the diaphragm and bladder were in place.  There was no indication that there was a chance of Down Syndrome, which is good since I’m not doing the genetic testing.  We didn’t do any of that with Bug and I don’t want to freak myself out unnecessarily.

Darling Hubby and I are very happy.  We both wanted another boy.  We just think they are easier and plus, we already have a ton of boy stuff, can reuse the bedding we already have, and are pretty set on a boys first name, although it’s not 100% set yet.  The middle name is still up in the air…but, we have another 4 months or so.  😀

In addition to the ultrasound, I also met with another one of my doctors.  Dr. Brosnan asked me, as all the others have the first time I see them, about my desired delivery method since I had a previous c-section with Bug.  I told him I’d like to attempt a VBAC and he said we could and that I need to set a baby weight limit that I am comfortable with.  Anything below that weight I would feel good about attempting to deliver “naturally” and anything above that, we’d schedule surgery.   We’ll see about the weight of the baby about 2 weeks before my EDD with another ultrasound.  Right now, he weights in at about 9oz (I wonder where the 5lbs I’ve gained has gone?!) and I’m hoping that he doesn’t pack on the pounds and be 9lbs 13oz like his big brother (course Bug was 13 days overdue!)  Right now, I think that anything under 8lbs I’ll go for the VBAC and anything above I’ll go for the c-section…

Random weekly info:

Weight gain – still holding steady at 5lbs, which is good.  I’ve been good about not eating too much, although I did eat a whole Moe’s Homewrecker Burrito Sunday night in addition to several chocolate chip cookies I baked that day…

Baby – I’ve been feeling Fidget a lot recently.  He was super active last night at Craft Night.  I felt like I had Tigger bouncing around in there.  Must have been the caffeine from the Pepsi I was drinking…

Symptoms – Still have to pee a ton…feeling great otherwise!

Cravings/Aversions – I haven’t really been craving anything this week…things sound good to me, but it’s not like I *need* it and make Darling Hubby jump into the car at midnight to get me anything.  Still no aversions.

Clothing – my tummy is ever expanding and my current pants are getting snug, although I can still button them and they do hang down a little…I *should* be able to get another month or so out of them.  I’ve asked my SIL if I can borrow her maternity clothes from her last son.  I’m hoping she can find them and lets me borrow them (she did for Bug’s pregnancy, so I don’t see any reason she won’t let me).  I’m sure I can’t fit into the pants that I have (not for another few months) and I don’t want to buy all new stuff when I can borrow…Guess I’m cheap that way!  lol

Here are a couple pictures from today.

Fidget's profile

Fidget's Profile

Fidget's Face

3D of Fidget's Face

One thought on “Ultrasound Results

  1. Hey, I came across your post in my Google Alerts. Congrats on your baby boy on the way! If you are hoping for a VBAC, you might want to get in touch with your local chapter of ICAN (http://www.ican-online.org/), if you haven’t already. They have lots of information and resources for moms seeking VBACs. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Comment

