37 Week Update – Full Term!

Week: 37 weeks 1 day

Weight gain total: I haven’t weighed myself this week, but I’m guessing that I’m around 33 lbs.

Cravings/Aversions/What I’ve Been Enjoying This Week: I’ve had the munchies pretty badly this week, but I’m trying to control what I put in my mouth.  Bug and I made some oatmeal raisin cookies and I made them small so maybe I wouldn’t eat a ton of them…It kinda helps that they are sorta healthy.

Sleep: Last night was a terrible night.  I couldn’t get comfortable no matter what, although I fell right to sleep as soon as my head hit the pillow…I just kept waking up and had a lot of pain like pulling muscles or cramps or something.  At least I only had to get up to pee twice rather than the 4 times I had been earlier this week.  It doesn’t help that I occasionally wake up feeling sick to my stomach…not sure what that’s about.  Maybe Baby Fidget is sleeping on my tummy or something.

Belly Button and Stretch Marks: My belly button has started poking out a little more.  I want to say my pop up timer has popped…I’m done!  lol I think there are the same amount of stretch marks…I haven’t really been paying attention to them…lol  I’ve also noticed that the dark line from my belly button down has darkened a bit more, too.

Baby: Baby Fidget is still wiggling around like crazy.  I’m not sure if he’s decided to stop hurting mommy as much or if I’ve just gotten used to the pain, but it doesn’t seem to be as bad this week.  I only waddle half the time now…

Nesting: I haven’t really been nesting so much as trying to get everything that I need to get done around the house done…Pretty much everything is just typical day to day stuff like laundry and cleaning…it’s just tougher when you are lugging around an extra 30+lbs and you get winded just walking from one side of the house to the other…lol

Appointments: I had my 37 week appointment a few days early on Monday.  The 3rd time was the charm and I got to see Dr. Vu.  She was the one to deliver Bug 5 years ago and I distinctly remember that we didn’t hit it off well then.  She was my least favorite doctor.  Time must have changed both of us, because we actually hit it off pretty well.  It was kinda like she was a whole different doctor.  She walked me through the dangers of having a VBAC and the slim chance that I could rupture my uterus at the c-section incision site.  The chances of that happening are 1% and Dr. Vu told me that in the 10 years she’s been practicing she’s only seen it happen 2 times and neither were patients in her practice.  She did tell me that I won’t be induced (I have to go into labor on my own) and they won’t give me anything to ripen the cervix to help me along because those things can up the chance of rupture.  The good news is that I won’t get pitocin (that stuff is evil!).  The bad news is, I’m not sure if my labor will progress well without it.  I have a history of going into labor late (practically 42 weeks with Bug) and my last labor wasn’t strong enough, even with the pit, to get me to 10cm.

I do have a weight check ultrasound on Tuesday (37 weeks 6 days) to check baby Fidget’s size and I’m hoping to get checked at that appointment to see if there is any labor action happening. Last week Dr. Wallingford estimated that baby is weighing around 5.5lbs.  Dr. Vu said he’s about 6lbs now, so it looks like I’m on track for a less than 8lb baby.  🙂

I had my Group B Strep test done by Dr. Vu and I’m hoping for good results from that.  She’s also performing a sensitivity test since I mentioned that I had a reaction to some Amox a year ago, the same as Bug’s recent reaction, and since his doctor recommended for him never to have Amox again, I’m worried that I might be allergic or sensitive to cillians, too.  The last thing I want is to have an allergic reaction while in labor…that would suck!

My plan right now is to give Baby Fidget until 39 weeks (around May 12th) to decide if he’s going to come on his own and then decide on the c-section date.  If not, I’d love to schedule the c-section for the 17th at the latest, although, I’m still hoping for a May 7th birthday…I’ve already decided he won’t be born on the 19th or the 22nd.  My friend Shell’s birthday is the 19th and my nephew D’s birthday is the 22nd.  I’m not opposed to Fidget sharing a birthday, I would just rather he have his own special day, KWIM?

Preparing for baby: Plans for this weekend include installing the infant carseat.  We moved a touch lamp that was in our office up to the baby’s room this past weekend, rather than buying one.  We also bought a cute little coming home outfit.  Bug picked it out and it has his favorite dinosaur on it…the stegosaurus.   I also managed to get all the hooded towels and baby blankets washed, dried and put away.  I also bought some new waterproof pads to put under the crib sheets to save the mattress from any accidents/blowouts.

Other stuff on my mind: I need to finish packing my suitcase for the hospital.  I think by this time with Bug’s pregnancy, I was all packed and ready to go…this time I’m not feeling so ready…I did pick up a new pair of slippers since I didn’t want to pack the ones that I’m still wearing…  I may try to get all this done by the weekend and toss the suitcase in the car so we’ll have it with us.

Here’s a picture from this morning.  Does he look a little lower?  I can’t tell!  lol

37 weeks 1 day pregnant

37 Weeks 1 Day Pregnant

2 thoughts on “37 Week Update – Full Term!

  1. Hey, you do look lower! I am telling you I swear on my life, my marrige, my children….Walk walk walk walk walk and get yourself some primrose oil tablets- research it too if you like, but I swear it is why I never not once tore or ripped. never saw a stictch even with Riese! Giannone recomended it when I had AJ, and I conformed each pregnancy and got the go ahead. mid wives especially went nutts that I WANTED to use it. It will not start labor if you are not ready, it just helps the cervix dialate and thin when it does it. it also helps the body recover quicker after labor.

Leave a Comment

