New Years Resolution Kept – Check!

For the first time in, well, ever, I’ve kept one of my New Years Resolutions.  Back on December 31st, I resolved to learn to knit properly and finish a sweater for Darling Hubby.  While I had a crochet version in the works, I decided that it just wasn’t working for me, so again, that got tossed into the frogged pile.  So, with the help of some crafty friends and you tube, I was able to learn to knit properly and I finished my very first knitted sweater!  Go me!  The 4th time is definitely the charm!  lol

I’m so happy with how it came out.  It’s better than I expected.  In reality, it should have only taken me a few months from start to finish, but somewhere around March, after finishing the front and back and half of one sleeve, I put my needles down and let the sweater simmer.  I’m not sure exactly why I put it down.  Maybe it was because I was pregnant or because the weather was warming up and I didn’t see the need to make a nice warm sweater when we were heading into spring and summer…who knows, but it was months before I picked up the sweater again.  Part of that was that I was busy with the new baby and I had other projects in the works, but the good news is that I was able to figure out where I left off and I was able to finish the sleeves, the neckline (which was a challenge since I’d never picked up stitches before) and sewed the whole thing together in 2 weeks.

Here is the finished product!  My “4th Time’s the Charm” Sweater.

Ta Da!

While it looks pretty big and baggy on me (which is actually how I like my winter sweaters), it fits Darling Hubby perfectly.  I think it’s the first time I’ve ever gotten correct gauge  (Thanks to Barbara at Knittin’ and Kitten’s for the swatching tips) on a wearable item and it came out the proper size.

The finished product

It even looks good folded on the table!

Close up

Close up of the pattern.

Here’s the link to my Ravelry page showing all the specks.  I’ve already started scouring the ravelry pattern pages for my next knitted wearable (maybe for me).  Now I need to figure out what I’m making, if anything, for Christmas presents this year…

Leave a Comment

