One of My Favorites

Usually when I need to make a baby blanket for a pregnant friend, I grab my crochet hook and some baby yarn and I get to work.  This usually yields a nice soft fluffy blanket in a matter of days.  When my friend Shannon announced that she was pregnant with her first, due a few months after me, I jumped at the chance to try my hand at something new.  I knew I still had Darling Hubby’s sweater on the needles, but I figured trying a knitted baby blanket would help me along with my knitting skills.

Shannon wasn’t finding out what she was having and I was convinced she was having a boy.  I started on a knitted blue hearts blanket.  After working on it for a few weeks, I saw another knitted baby blanket on one of those knitting shows on tv and I knew I had to try it.  I ran out to the local yarn store and picked up a circular needle in the right length (Joann’s crafts never has the long circulars) and a bunch of soft squishy (and machine washable) yarn in shades of green – which go along with the baby’s room theme and set out to work.

The pattern was so easy once I figured out the new stitch and I finished 4 days before the baby’s arrival  and delivered just 2 days before the baby made its arrival.

I’m happy to announce that I was wrong!  Shannon had a baby girl!  (I’m glad I put that blue hearts blanket into hibernation for a while.) I haven’t had the opportunity to meet her yet, due to conflicting schedules and sickness, but I hope to before she’s a year old!  lol  I also hope that she’s enjoying snuggling with the blanket.

Here are some pictures of the finished blanket.  I’ll admit that while it took a little longer than making a crocheted baby blanket, I’d love to make it again on bigger needles.  It’s one of my favorite finished objects!

The finished blanket

Close up

Shannon and the blanket

Shannon & Jay

One thought on “One of My Favorites

Leave a Comment

